There Was A Girl………..

Published September 4, 2012 by lionessallison

There was a girl, she lived in a château, no , actually, she lived in a bungalow, her name was ATHENA… Athena was a girl of many talents, many dreams and many faith, she was fair and beautiful, physically petite , mentally strong yet emotionally weak. Athena cared most for her family, she loved the art and everything natural, and a day in Athena’s life ? Could go like this :

She wakes up in the morning with her first thought being what she dreamt about, “thank you Jesus” follows right after and that dark handsome guy whose memory she can’t seem to kick off her system. She sometimes take a moment to think of her life, imagine how the future could be, and she sometimes just pray , read a book and get the day started.

Athena knew a lot of friends, but had none, one of them once described her as someone who could sell an idea of a billion dollars without owning a kobo, she never gave up and there’s always a plan. Unfortunately for Athena, things don’t go the way she deserved, nothing was ever easy, she most believed in fairytale, but I doubt fairies like girls in bungalows very much.

Athena mostly goes from the happiest to the most depressed in one second, well, to be honest, that’s not very hard to achieve in her world, there was always something or someone to make her feel worse, especially the things or people she wouldn’t do the same to.

Athena was what you could call “The Good Girl” she goes to church, respects her elders, but wasn’t content with what she had, who could be content with a bungalow, working hard with no positive result to satisfy and people who don’t see your efforts because they love you too blindly to care that anything you did was good for you.

Now don’t get me wrong, she was grateful and happy but not content, and that right there, was her only crime, the passion to want to do more, give more, have more and make her life worth everything, which ever since she’d grown to take care of herself had been put to the most passion wrecking tests.

Athena , like you must’ve started adjusting to, was a warrior of many talents, from a little girl she built herself a wall, where all her secrets, emotions, talents, drive, passion, hope and father was kept. When she was with her biological family she wore he black lace dress, its lace because she hoped they might one day see her beautiful skin, they might see that she tries and that she needs them though not in the way they saw fit. When she was with the friends she knew she wore her yellow dress, its long, covering all her skin, she wants them to see how bright she is but doesn’t want to be SEEN. Well, she is seen alright, talk about centre of attention that yellow dress does get her into friend trouble, they like her, but would rather do without her….you know what I mean? But when Athena goes home to her father , with whom all her precious was kept, she was in her skin, she was white and she glows like a diamond, her eyes honey brown, her lips apple pink and her hair red as rose, she either goes to her father happy with great news that mostly always don’t last…… Or crying with her troubles that always don’t leave.

Athena would say:

“Father! I’m here again, the gifts you gave me are pretty, I’ve been using them well, but they always need repair and I don’t have the resources. That guy you sent me? He took me to dinner, he took me on a carpet ride to see the world, but his name wasn’t Aladdin, he dumped me in the ocean! The people I live with, they complain I don’t do it right, they say they know your plans for me and I’m ruining it? Am I? How could you tell them and not me? They don’t even know you like I do! Do I break my walls so they could see you?… Oh no… Won’t do. They won’t see you because they have no eyes!

Father,….why don’t I get what I deserve? Why don’t good things happen to me often or last when they do?

Father….. Do you still walk with me?…. Do you still hear me, father, I love you, will you show yourself to me again soon?…… This time I promise not to hide from fear of your Holiness,

Father….. are you there?”

and her Father, always only answers one question, “Yes, I AM HERE”

There was a girl, and ATHENA was her name.

LionessAllison
ILÉKTRA REPUBLIC
C.E.O

One comment on “There Was A Girl………..

  • Leave a Reply

